Working in Browser? Really?

Is Kinetic from a browser really the way they want us to go in the future? Are they planning to ditch the desktop app completely? How can this possibly be better? Can anyone put my mind at ease here?

It seems to me like using the browser is a huge security risk. What if the user is using an old version of Firefox, or worse… Edge? Are XSS or SQL injection attacks a concern? Does Kinetic use cookies? What is stored in them?

@ckrusen asked a similar question: Is security in the browser (Kinetic) okay?
This thread did easy my concerns a little bit. I just really like a standalone application. Is it really going away?

1 Like

At Insights 2022, the information is that with version 2024.1, there will be no desktop client shipped.

Why do you think a desktop client is more secure?

And Edge is Chrome… :person_shrugging:

5 Likes

That’s the word on the street. I want to say 2024 is when it’s gone/unsupported/etc.

2 Likes

I am no security expert. But I have all the same concerns as calvin from his post. We just don’t trust users in browsers, ever. You all make good arguments that the desktop app is no more secure than the browser version. I guess I have to trust the experts here.

Will our browsers be storing any epicor data? For example, browsers often have an autofill form feature. If uesrs type the same part number day after day, will they be allowed to save it in the browser so it autofills? If so, how secure is that autofill data?

We get pen test reports from our MSP. They use Galactic Scan to look for stored credentials and other data. This often returns users sensitive save information from browsers including usernames, passwords, and addresses. Based on this revelation, we advise users not to allow the browser to autosave passwords or other form fields. But we know this is not always followed.