What Language?

Ok. My degree is in business administration, and I have not taken any classes that would relate to computers. Everything I have learned is from smart people pushing me in the right direction and giving me a primer. After that, I google (how I found this place) and hack and slash until I get something to work.

Right now, staring down customizing Kinetic, I am lost. Everything to date (E10) has been pretty cut and dry. Reporting, learn SSRS. Customizations, learn C#.

What the heck do I need to learn to customize Kinetic? As an example, I want to refresh a page. If I google refresh page in JSON, Angular, TypeScript, etc I get no results. I guess I am used to being able to check Microsoft’s C# programming guide to find what I need.

Which one of you smart people out there is going to be the one to push me in the right direction?

1 Like

Mmm, you can’t really do that because Kinetic is built upon those things but uses its own stuff.
JSON is the one I use the most when developing in App Studio followed by the occasional JavaScript for hacky stuff.
I don’t think you really need to get into Angular right now unless you’re gonna build custom widgets and whatnot.

** Well, lemme clarify a bit. You can’t Google to do the typical (Kinetic data) refresh, but you can probably find JS code to refresh the entire browser page.
Location reload() Method (w3schools.com)

1 Like

My advice, if you’re on-prem, is to browse the stuff they’ve created for you in the MetaUI folder on the server. I use voidtools to search by keywords within files in a certain folder. For instance, I can search the MetaUI and child folders for, say “property-set” to see the JSON of how they did it. You can get syntax from it that way.

5 Likes

Whomp, whomp! Out of luck on that one.