Set Field - Method Directive

So I’m trying to use a method directive to set a UD field in the QuoteQty table. Currently I am using the Update method, and it is working fine for the most part.

The problem I am facing is I need to populate this field for quotes that have already been quoted. So to do this, we are planning on having someone go into to every old quote, un-quote, un-engineer, save in order to trigger the BPM, then re-engineer and re-quote.

I noticed a problem while testing this process where unless the costs have changed on the quote, the BPM does not trigger to set the UD field. Is there a different method I can use that will circumvent this issue? Or perhaps I need to use a data directive instead of a method directive?

This is my first time utilizing BPMs, so if anyone has some insight on these issues that would be greatly appreciated!

I think what you are seeing is caused by the fact there is no change in the record as you mention. One (temporary) option might be to write the BPM to look at actual records (not just ttRecords coming across) and make the changes. You’d only want to run this once before disabling. Being new to BPM’s I dont necessarily know if this is a safe option for you unsupervised. Perhaps a somewhat safer approach is to put this logic in an updatable BAQ where you can more easily control the execution, but even this comes with it’s own learning curve. Please dont take this as a cop-out, I just wouldnt want to be responsible for giving you bad advice to mess up your data.

Perhaps someone else will have some friendlier alternatives.

1 Like

John,
I can’t say that I’ve done a BPM to update the QuoteQty table (and adjust costs or something) but I have run into the same issue with updating UD fields on QuoteHed and QuoteDtl - when the quote is marked quoted.