Phantom BOMs & Operations

Hi all,

We have a main assembly that incorporates a Phantom assembly consisting of an operation and materials. When we created a Job for the main assembly, the Phantom P/N disappeared in the materials list leaving the components, but the operation used in the Phantom assembly was pulled. Is there any way so that the operation for the Phantom assembly doesn’t appear? Phantom BOM is checked off in both the Part Detail and Site levels.

In this case, A1T1 is the operation in the Phantom assembly method.

If you dont want any ops to come over from the phantom part, In your phantom part, dont put any Operations in the MOM.

2 Likes

If you need that op you could just make it backflush but I’m with Craig.

Hello, I’m new to E10 and we would like to use Phantom Assemblies, how do you set these up?

This is one of the distinctive ways that Epicor ERP behaves with Phantoms. In some other ERP Systems, the phantom only included the materials, but in Epicor, the phantom always includes both the materials and the labor. This actually works very well in situations where you have a sub-assembly that you no longer want to build separately, BUT it can cause problems if you are converting from a system that “dropped” the operations when you changed the part to a phantom.
Recommendation, examine all your phantom assemblies, and make sure that the labor you have is not duplicated in the upper level assembly. AND/OR, you can delete the operations from the phantoms, OR simply change the labor hours to zero leaving the instructions (and mark the labor as Backflushed).

1 Like