Manufacturing Processes from an IT perspective

As a system administrator, I don’t always understand the manufacturing or business processes that drive technical needs. I would really love some form of “how manufacturing companies work for sysadmins” or something like that. What is MRP? How does purchasing work in an enterprise? How and why are parts “transacted”?

Does anyone know of something like that (via Epicor learning or elsewhere)? I realize this depends greatly on industry and what is being manufactured, but really I’m looking for an overview of the what and why of an ERP system.

Look for the technical reference guides on EpicWeb. They give an overview of processes, and then dive into the technical details of the algorithms involved and how they function.

They typically start off with flowcharts, and then dig much deeper from there, giving very detailed explanations and examples.

2 Likes

What do you really want to know? I spent 30 years as a manufacturing manager before taking over my company’s ERP system.
MRP is the Epicor function that creates job and purchasing suggestions from demands in the system. When something is sold (Sales Order created and approved) that is a demand. That demand also has a required by date (ship date). The MRP function runs and creates a job or PO suggestions with a schedule that meets the required by date based on the method of manufacture and other lead time defaults set up in the system. Kind of a short explanation.
Purchasing takes the PO suggestions, either through Purchase Order Entry of the Buyer’s Workbench and creates a purchase order to send to the supplier. The purchase order (PO) is a legal promise to pay for goods and/or services from a supplier.