Help with Custom code in BPM

Good Day,
I have created a BPM to send an email through custom code when a Shipment in Customer shipment entry gets set to Shipped. My issue is it needs to been sent to the ShipTo contact in the Sales Order and I am having an issue with the code to query that information.
Forgive me I am new to C# and would appreciate any guidance!

Hi Eric,
Could you give us what you have so far?

Sure … very little honestly see below. Im not sure how to reference the OrderNumber from the Shipping Entry in the first query (or if the query is even correct). Then I think I would need to query the Contact table to grab the email address…

Erp.Tables.OrderHed OrderHed;

var orderRow = (from OrderHed_Row in OrderHed where OrderHed_Row.Company == Session.CompanyID
&& OrderHed_Row.OrderNum == orderNum);

var mailer =

I would not let me post the mailer code lol something about links… anyway I know that part works…

The ShipDtl has the OrderNum link, not the ShipHead

Indeed it is my bad… so in my query do I need to reference the ShipDtl table in the Where clause like OrderHed_Row.OrderNum == ShipDtl.OrderNum

Yes, just keep in mind, if there will ever be a case where there may be more than 1 ShipToContact on the order, you will need some special handling.

For example, if you have 2 lines with diff contacts, you would have to make 2 emails. But, if you have 2 lines with same contacts, I assume you wouldnt want to send that person 2 emails.

Yes thanks makes sense will need to code for that exception for sure!

so now I have the following code and I am getting 2 exceptions - Invalid Expression term ‘select’ and Use of unassigned local variable ‘ShipDtl’

Erp.Tables.ShipDtl ShipDtl;
var orderRow = (from OrderHed_Row in Db.OrderHed where OrderHed_Row.Company == Session.CompanyID
&& OrderHed_Row.OrderNum == ShipDtl.OrderNum &&
select OrderHed_Row).FirstOrDefault();

What BO and method are you using to trigger this?