BPM and/or Customization gurus

We’ve had on a few occasions where users will copy and paste a line description into a PO when entering. Of course when the line description exceeds 1000 character this creates chaos when running a Wip report and we have to go in and repair.
I would like to put a BPM into place that will force a hard stop when the maximum number of characters is exceeded.
I am not a BPM expert by any means other than a very basic simple BPM.
I believe I would use PO.GetNewPODetail … condition would be PODetail.Line Desc of the changed row >= (we are going to set it at 800), but how would I set the “specified” expression?

Or would a customization be a better route to go?
Ideas? Suggestions?

Please and thanks in advance :slight_smile:

I’m not familiar with the issue, but if I understand correctly PO line description will accept more than 1000 characters but this causes some sort of issue in the WIP report? Is the issue that it becomes unreadable due to length or a error based issue?

Our part descriptions often span several lines. I usually make the BAQs and reports have a calculated value that just returns the first 50 or 100 characters, named something like ShortDesc. That allows the full descriptoon to appear on orders and PO’s, but just gives you a brief snippet of the desc on the other reports (like stock status) I’ll often replace embedded CR and LF with a a space.

Edit

Might want to replace “odd” characters (like TAB, RS, and extended chars like ©, TM, °, •, etc…), as they can cause issues to.

Data Directive on PODetail is your best bet here I would put an In-Transaction Data Directive
with a condition where PODtl.LineDescription.Length > 1000 then throw an exception;

Create a Variable of type Integer

Then assign it the value of the Length of the LineDescription field

then add a condition that if the sepecified parameter > 1000 then throw exception

modify crystal/ssrs (Wip report) to print first 800 characters only.