Basics - Navigation

I am new to Epicor so I am still learning but I am trying to figure out best navigation strategies and useful tips and tricks so to speak.

1 Like

A lot of good stuff for free here:

4 Likes

The online help has some decent info on the basics.

Probably the most import piece of advice I’d give a new person, is that the New and Delete toolbar Icon’s are context sensitive. During Order Entry, clicking the New tool could give you a new order, new line, new release. It all depends on what element is in focus.

3 Likes

I have looked through a portion of these! Thank you.

1 Like

Thoughts on commitment. :heart: (No, not that kind.)

1. There is no undo.
  2. A lot of times a record is saved and you don’t realize it.
  3. The point of 1 & 2 combined is, mean it when you are working in Epicor.

I guess this might be off-base, but the biggest technical thing to overcome is wrapping your head around the difference between a transaction and a ordinary record. Basically, transactions always involve money in some immediate way.

You can’t really undo a transaction, only reverse it, and there is always a trail.

You can change ordinary records at will (like the Part settings, Customer info, or Engineering methods, for example.). There is no trail unless the admin set up a change log for that exact field.

But, learn to love the Inventory-WIP Reconciliation Report. It is accounting’s lifeblood. You get to see what accounts inventory transactions will hit before they are captured in a periodic process.

And get access to EpicWeb and all the guides that you can download there, like the Inventory Transaction Hierarchy, for example.

2 Likes

This is great advice! Thank you!

I am used to Quickbooks so it is set up so differently!

1 Like

Somewhat … some aspects of a part become locked (unchangeable), after transactions related to it are performed.