BAQ - Get records where one field is unique

I’ve looked for a solution and havent found anything relevant.

My goal is to make a BAQ to show only employess who’ve had labor activity in the last X days

I am using LaborDtl to filter the createdate then trying to link that to EmpBasic to get the name.

It’s effective but I’d prefer to not have loads of duplicate names on the result list. I’ve tried to finagle it with join types and even played with a subquery (which I have no experience with) to no avail.

I think if I had to, I could call that BAQ from code and delete duplicate rows from the results table as a last resort. Any thoughts or advice? I’d mention I don’t have access to the SQL server so creating a view is out of the question.

Chris,

If you use a sub-query to return the last labor transaction date, you can then filter that to your criteria. Then you can link that sub-query to your employee record so that you only receive a single line for each employee.

Jim Rogers

1 Like

You are in 10 aren’t you?.. Just use Group By SQL is awesome like that

Thanks for the replies.

Ok Jose, let’s assume for a minute that I’m an idiot…

How can I do a groupBy? I click GroupBy on the field I want in Display Fields but then I get this error:

Severity: Error, Table: , Field: , RowID: , Text: Column ‘Erp.LaborDtl.EmployeeNum’ is invalid in the select list because it is not contained in either an aggregate function or the GROUP BY clause.

Jim, I need more than just the last because multiple people can work on the same job. I did play around with that idea though using SubQueries but I found I lack the training to be effective up to this point. I think I got the gist of it, but ultimately couldn’t sort it out.

Quick and dirty. Import and revise as needed.

LaborActivity.baq (22.2 KB)

1 Like

Works like a champ! Thanks a ton. Now to figure out what you did. Feel free to break it down.:smile: