Absolute Beginner - Configurator Help

Hey all,
I was just hired into a new position that uses epicor. I have little to no knowledge of epicor, however, i have been doing my own personal research but i’m somewhat stuck. I need to create a configurator that will take a model string, for example “2DAF-59” and be able to pull a set of materials based on each letter (each letter pertaining to a motor, motor gear, etc). I know that i will be using a template BOM and i know that i will be uploading several tables… I just don’t know where to start. The training material is somewhat vague that i’ve found.

Can you guys point me in the right direction?

Wow… talk about being thrown directly into the fire… You need to learn some of the basics of the Configurator.
BUT, I will give you how I would probably approach this:
Two Significant options:

1. A configurator with a single input to enter the model.
  • I would probably make one input field, and then a calculated field for each letter for each motor, gear, etc.
  1. what is often called a “Headless” or “No-Inputs” configurator (harder to build). This is because there are no inputs to see, and you can only see the RESULTS in the Job or Quote.

as a beginner, I would choose number 1 above. create a master template Part number. What does that Master Template look like? Well again, you have three options:

1. Super BOM - put one material into the bom for EVERY Option (one material for each motor, gear, etc. ie… if there are 5 possible motors, and 10 possible gears, you would need 15 material lines. This can result in a huge BOM. With this type, your Method rules are simple but very repetitive… you “Keep” the parts that are needed, and eliminate the rest.