VB or C#

I am new to Epicor and am getting mixed signals as to whether I should use VB or not. I am trying to use C# but am struggling - this would be easier if I use VB.
Will VB be deprecated? Does it not matter which language I use?

1 Like

Welcome Susan!

Do not be confused. VB is being deprecated by Epicor and Microsoft too. Post your C# questions here. There are also some good C# resources recommended by several on this group:

4 Likes

VB.Net is going into maintenance mode Microsoft: 'We Do Not Plan to Evolve Visual Basic as a Language' -- Visual Studio Magazine

Microsoft and I expect Epicor will not invest in it any more. I would use C#. There are lots of very helpful people here on the forum.

Brett

2 Likes

Welcome @SusanM, I was much more used to VB and only started learning C# last year. It has been very worthwhile, and worth investing some time in. The biggest challenge has been in learning to make it talk to Epicor, more than the language itself.

• I got the syntax via the free SoloLearn app

• and then built a (very) simple game from this free tutorial here which cemented the structure in my mind;

• and then figured out how to debug by adding a messagebox using

this.PublishInfoMessage("whatever string you want", Ice.Common.BusinessObjectMessageType.Information, Ice.Bpm.InfoMessageDisplayMode.Individual,"","");

and there are literally dozens of really helpful people on this forum.

As others have said, VB is drifting away.

4 Likes

I’ll join the Chorus, VB is a no no stay away for everyone’s sake

Learn C# it will serve well anywhere you go

2 Likes

There really isn’t much difference, it shouldn’t take you too long to get used to c#

1 Like

Right. You will have to learn C#. Epicor’s BPMs are LINQ (same syntax as C#), so you will be forced to learn it if you want to write custom code BPMs.

1 Like

Oh - been there!!! :roll_eyes: