Prepay and Add Freight - How to guarantee costs are invoiced to customer

Hello,

I am new to Epicor (2 weeks in) and I am trying to investigate some issues. We often times quote orders as exworks. The order is then prepared, customer is contacted with shipping weight and dimensions to arrange shipment, and they ask us to prepay the shipment and add it to the invoice (PPA). We proceed to book and pay the for the shipment, but are failing to link it to the sales order and invoice our customer for it.

Is there a foolproof way to link the freight invoice to our sales order to ensure it gets added to the original invoice?

We get one invoice from our carriers at the end of the month (we do not issue a PO for freight each time we ship).

Any help or insights on this is appreciated.

You can setup a Misc Charges.

• These could then be added to the whole order or on a line by line basis.
  • Misc Charges can be setup as a percentage of the order or line, or as a set value (changable on each order and/or line).
  • they can also be configured to occurr once or with every shipment. And can also be tailored to happen on the first shipment or last.
3 Likes

Thanks Calvin!

I think our issue is that we do not have an inside sales team yet to manager the order once it has been entered. With your idea, our shipper can notify an inside sales rep to make a revision to the existing order by creating a ‘New Line Charge’ with the estimated amount of the freight. This ensures that come time to invoice, we do not forget to invoice the freight!